MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on. The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
by The Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by American Psychological Association Staff
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by)
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Dewey. Bellow. Strauss. Friedman. The University of Chicago has been the home of some of the most important thinkers of the modern age. Now, with this seventh edition, Turabian’s Manual has undergone its most extensive revision, ensuring that it will remain the most valuable handbook for writers at every level—from first-year undergraduates, to dissertation writers apprehensively submitting final manuscripts, to senior scholars who may be old hands at research and writing but less familiar with new media citation styles.
Diagnosis: Plagiarism, Pt. 1
Watch Yavapai College Library's video on plagiarism!
You should always check the citation created with a citation generator with a style handbook. The citation generators are not always 100% correct.
Fun tutorial! From the Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University that covers when, why, and how to cite information. It also includes information about the difference between paraphrasing and quoting.
Fun tutorial from the Vaughan Memorial Library at Acadia University that covers when, why, and how to cite information. It also includes information about the difference between paraphrasing and quoting.
From California State Univerity -- resources for AAA, APA, ASA, CSE, Chicago, MLA, & Turabian
What is plagiarism?
According to Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, to plagiarize is to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own: use (another's production) without crediting the source: to commit literary theft: present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.
It is crucial that sources used in writing be cited and cited properly. Credit must be given to the authors whose ideas are used in your research. Even when you do not use direct quotes from an author’s work, if the reading of the work helped contribute to the ideas offered in your paper, the author’s work must still be given proper credit and included in your bibliography. Rephrasing an author’s work, rather than quoting word for word, still requires documentation in your bibliography. Plagiarism violates academic standards and could result in a failing grade or a possible expulsion from the school.