Skip to main content
The Library subscribes to numerous individual databases. What kind of information can be found in these databases?
- Scholarly articles from many disciplines of study
- Major Newspapers, National and International coverage
- Some local Texas newspapers
- Popular magazines
- Authoritative indexes and abstracts
- Links from indexes and abstracts to full content in other databases
Many of these databases focus on a specific discipline or source of data. If you are looking for information on a specific subject, select that subject or the closest match from the description of the database.
Database Search Tips
Keyword Search Strategies:
Boolean Operators - Combine two search terms to focus a topic by using and, or, not.
Ex: Mark Twain or Samuel Langhorne Clemens
Truncation - Use an asterisk * to find variant forms. Ex: Mark Twain and critic* (finds critics, criticism, criticisms and critical)
Phrases - Place quotation marks around phrases so all the words are searched together. Ex. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn AND Mark Twain
Terms to Know
- boolean operators - To make your search more precise, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.
- database - A structured set of information, stored in a computer.
- peer-reviewed article - A scholarly article published in a peer-reviewed journal.
- peer-reviewed journal - Also called a "refereed" journal. A scholarly journal that used the peer review process to select material for publication.
- periodical - publications issued at regular intervals, such as journals, magazines, and newspapers. They are often called serials.
- serial - publications issued at regular or irregular intervals and intended to continue indefinitely and include periodicals, journals, magazines, newwpapers, and yearbooks.
From the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library's Glossary of Library Terms.
Will C. Miller Memorial Library | Southwest Texas Junior College | 2401 Garner Field Road | Uvalde, TX 78801 | 830-591-7367 | swtjc.libguides.com/home