You will need to login when you are off-campus!
Fulltext - Some of the subscription databases contain citations and abstracts of articles in addition to the full text of articles. To make sure that you access complete articles, click the fulltext box on your search screen. You may have to use the Advanced Search option or click More Search Options to display this box.
Scholarly Journals - Subscription databases often allow you to limit your search results to scholarly journals (which also may be called peer-reviewed or academic journals). Look for a box that allows you to limit results to scholarly journals. You may have to use the Advanced Search option or click More Search Options to display this box.
Directions for Off Campus Users
The highlighted area indicates a sample Student ID
Problems? Contact the Library Information Desk at 830-591-7367 or the IT Desk at 830-591-7323.
Also, check out the Library Help Tools.
What Databases Contain: The SWTJC/SRSU-RGC Library purchases subscriptions to databases that can be accessed 24/7 from off campus as well as on campus. Databases may include material from books, popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, statistics, and evaluated websites. Some databases (Films on Demand) contain streaming video.
Databases by Subject: The Online Databases - By Subject tab consolidates specialized databases by discipline. Databases that are useful for a variety of disciplines are listed in the box below.
Alphabetical List: Databases are arranged alphabetically, with a short description, in the Alphabetical List of Databases. Use the alphabetical list to find a database you already know the name of.
Using Databases: Although databases have different features, most work the same way. After you open an article, look on the screen for icons that allow you to email or print the article. For pdf documents, always click the separate link for Citation and print that page so you will have complete citation information. Look for full-text links to access the article. Remember to check the full-text box when you search to only pull up full-text articles!
These databases are good for almost all subjects
Will C. Miller Memorial Library | Southwest Texas Junior College | 2401 Garner Field Road | Uvalde, TX 78801 | 830-591-7367 | swtjc.libguides.com/home